CAD/Drafting Competition 2016 Results


San Diego County Students Test Skills in 2016 CAD/Drafting Competition

The 2016 Computer Aided Design (CAD)/Design or Hand Drafting Competition sponsored by the San Diego Chapter of the National Association of Women in Construction (NAWID) challenged 23 San Diego County high school students to produce creative designs, demonstrate craftsmanship and successful problem solving through preparation of architectural drawings.

This year’s CAD/Drafting Competition project required students to design a small 7,500 square foot grocery store. Competition judging took place at the Associated Builders and Contractors San Diego office in Poway, California. Judges from all phases of the construction industry reviewed and scored completed drawings submitted by 23 students from San Diego County High Schools.

Project drawings must include at minimum a floor plan, exterior elevation and site plan and placement of structure. Local winners move on to national level competition, where they receive additional monetary prizes.

Entries were evaluated for detail, accuracy and originality of work. The competition introduces students to the construction industry in a positive and challenging manner, while fostering a sense of self-worth and building confidence. Mentoring programs between students and educators throughout the process are encouraged.
This year’s winners are:

  • First Place: Sherwin Labadan, Morse High School - $500 prize
  • Second Place: Lhymwell Manalo, Morse High School - $300 prize
  • Third Place: Luke Lawver, San Dieguito Academy - $150 prize

The three winners, their guests and their instructors were invited to attend the annual San Diego NAWIC Anniversary/Awards Dinner where they were recognized and presented with their prize money and awards. We wish all three good luck as they move on to national competition.

Thank you to our competition’s judges, all industry professionals who donated their time to review, score and critique the drawings:

  • Kenton Ahrentzen, Harper Construction Company, Inc.
  • Martin Flores, Rick Engineering Company
  • Jill Gravely, Hale Engineering
  • Rhonda Mitchell, UCSD
  • Russ Onufer, UCSD
  • Dion Richard, Sprotte Watson Architects
  • Patty Sprotte, Sprotte Watson Architects
Linda Young